[ URBAN + TAKE(ØUT) ]

[the|essential|read|for|unique|trend|originators]

From the Mouth of [a] Gouyen

with 6 comments

It was a cool, overcast day when I came across a wise women on my path to fashionable enlightenment.  Her face was soft but her look was stern.  She had thick, dark amber colored hair that gently touched her face; as if to remind itself that it was connected to something so beautiful.  I noticed she was traveling in the opposite direction as me.  With slight apprehension, I decided to stop her and ask her why she was headed ‘fashion-backward.’  She tossed her hair from her face and spoke in a very soft tone as if I didn’t just ask her such an invasive question.  She told me that she had learned enough and was on her way to bring fashion knowledge back to her people.  She then looked up, as if to see my next thought, and said that she would tell me five things that a wise woman should have in the Fall

Boots.

STYLE BERRY Leather Lace-up Ankle Boots

fiorentinibakereternityboot

Fall dress.

frenchconnectionjackdress1

Greyhound Tour Tunic

[bad ass] Skirt.

schiapbuttonskirt

Funky sweater.

Beccgirl Sweater Dress + cowl neck

and Tall gloves.

UGG Tall Cardy Gloves

Acne Leather and Knit Gloves

…After we each walked but a few steps in our separate ways, this Gouyen-like woman turned around and said to me (with what seemed to be the first sign 0f a smile since we began our encounter) “there is nothing a woman cannot get with a smile and a gun.”

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I TOTALLY agree with her!!! This is funny because I just went shopping on Black Friday and I tell you NO LIE I picked up these 5 items (among other things of course!!)!!! And actually the dress that I purchased to wear for my graduation is very similar to the style of the dress of that first dress picture you have shown (the bottom half is different and its a diffenet material). Great article!!

    ~ Yetta

    Kenyetta Reid

    December 12, 2008 at 8:22 am

  2. Im in love with the tall boots this season there are really some firece once..since leather appear to be coming back, its only going to get better…

    mswanda

    December 16, 2008 at 12:21 am

  3. The black skirt steals the show.
    The red boots are a close second.
    -Johanne at http://www.fashioninmotion.wordpress.com

    FashionInMotion.wordpress.com

    December 16, 2008 at 9:12 pm

  4. Wow, I love this post for a lot of reasons: good writing, great selection of fall essentials, and the Gouyen archetypal-figure. I had no idea who that was, but a quick search has me in awe of your knowledge of women’s history. This is the best fashion post I have read yet.

    Analogue Chic

    December 31, 2008 at 9:20 pm

  5. I really want to buy clothes from Beccgirl website but i dun understand Korean. how can i do it? please help

    Quynh

    January 3, 2009 at 12:19 am

  6. […] 24, 2009 · No Comments …She had captured my attention again. But I welcomed her invitation to respond. I asked the Gouyen […]


Leave a Reply

